MMI announces 2021-22 board officers

Home / News / MMI announces 2021-22 board officers
Llewellyn F. Dryfoos III

MMI Preparatory School recently announced the officers of the board of directors for the
2021-22 fiscal year.

The board officers:

Llewellyn F. Dryfoos III will serve as chair. Dryfoos is a regional president of OneGroup Risk Management and Insurance and an MMI graduate, Class of 1982. Mr. Dryfoos previously served on the board of directors from 1995 to 2004, then again from 2005 to 2013. His most recent service on the board began in 2019. A native of the Hazleton area, Mr. Dryfoos holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the United States Military Academy at West Point. He served more than five years as an officer in the United States Army and served as a Patriot missile fire control officer in Saudi Arabia and Iraq in the first Persian Gulf War. Prior to his current position at OneGroup, Mr. Dryfoos was president of The Dryfoos Group of Insurance Agencies, a regional property and casualty insurance brokerage that specialized in risk management insurance for businesses in eastern Pennsylvania.

Other board service includes vice president of Minsi Trails Council, Boy Scouts of America and president of the Sophia G. Coxe Charitable Trust Fund. Mr. Dryfoos also has three children who have graduated from MMI.

Richard A. DiLiberto Jr.Richard A. DiLiberto Jr. will serve as vice chair. DiLiberto is a litigation partner with Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor LLP in Wilmington, Delaware. DiLiberto is an MMI graduate, Class of 1979. He has served on the board since 2013. DiLiberto earned his Juris Doctor degree (cum laude) from Delaware Law School, Widener University and a Bachelor of Science in Education (cum laude) from Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania. A native of the Hazleton area, Attorney DiLiberto served in the Delaware House of Representatives from 1992 to 2002, served as a law clerk to Judge Vincent Bifferato of the Delaware Superior Court, and is currently chairperson of the Delaware Commission on Italian Heritage and Culture.

Other board and community service includes being a member of the Governor’s Magistrate Screening Committee, treasurer and board member of the Delaware Law-Related Education Center, and serving as an adjunct faculty member for Delaware Law School, Widener University’s Intensive Trial Advocacy Program.

John J. Slyconish Jr.John J. Slyconish Jr. will serve as treasurer. He is executive vice president and treasurer of State Street, a financial services company in Massachusetts. Mr. Slyconish is an MMI graduate, Class of 1995, and began serving on the board in 2018. Mr. Slyconish is a native of Freeland who earned his A.B. degree in chemistry and a certificate in the visual arts from Princeton University. Prior to joining State Street, Mr. Slyconish was a partner in the finance and risk management practice of Oliver Wyman.

Additional board and community service includes: board of trustees member and treasurer of the Kasiisi Project, which supports the conservation of Uganda’s Kibale National Park; and the board of directors of Artists for Humanity, which provides under-resourced teams the keys to self-sufficiency through paid employment in art and design.


William L. Spear Jr.William L. Spear Jr. will serve as secretary. He is president, chief executive officer and pharmacy manager at Hazle Drugs on Broad Street. Mr. Spear is an MMI graduate, Class of 1979. He has served on the board since 2008. A native of the Hazleton area, Mr. Spear holds a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy (University of the Sciences) as well as a certified clinical nutritionist degree from the American College of Clinical Nutritionists.
Other board service includes the Greater Hazleton Chamber of Commerce, Downtown Hazleton Alliance for Progress, Hazleton CanDo, Hazleton Rotary Club, board of associates of Lehigh Valley Health Network and the Cranberry Creek Gateway board. Mr. Spear has three sons who also graduated from MMI.



Board members serve a one-year term that follows the fiscal year, from July to June. This year’s officers were selected and vetted by the current board through a nomination and voting process.

The board and its subcommittees oversee school functions such as advancement, finance and facilities management. Most recently, subcommittees were formed to lead strategic design and COVID-19 response.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.