MMI recognizes students during Upper School Awards Convocation & Graduation

Home / News / MMI recognizes students during Upper School Awards Convocation & Graduation
MMI Upper School Awards Ninth Grade Subject Award Winners

MMI recognized students in ninth through 11th grades during a virtual Upper School Awards Convocation. Seniors were honored at the graduation ceremony. 

Gina Galada, Keiran Mele, Katelyn Overa, and Dustin Paul each received the 2021 Wilkes University Colonel Emerging Leader Award, which is given to high school juniors who demonstrate academic potential. Selected students are guaranteed a minimum of $10,000 per year if they are admitted and enroll at Wilkes University in the fall semester immediately following their high school graduation.

MMI honored several ninth through eleventh grade students with 2021 Subject Awards, which are given to students who show outstanding contribution, achievement, and dedication to an individual subject. Winners are:

Ninth Grade – Abigail Sparich (English and History), Nathaniel Neidlinger (Science and Chinese Language), Edgar Lopez-Rodriguez (Math), Nathan Sissick (German Language), Dominic Raifsnider (Spanish Language), Emily Borchick (Visual Arts), and Sun Wang (Music Performance).

MMI Upper School Awards Tenth Grade Subject Award WinnersTenth Grade – Jessica Zheng (English and Math), Khristian Banks (Science and German Language), Annabel Dobash (History), Kasia Svendson (Chinese Language), Manal Muhammad (Spanish Language), Ty McDermott (Visual Arts), and Anden Karlick (Music Performance).

Eleventh Grade – Rachael Betz (English, History, and Spanish Language), Ashley Loss (Science), Morgan Strecker (Math), Connor Spencer (Chinese Language), Dustin Paul (German Language), and Alexandra Tierney (Visual Arts).

Twelfth Grade – Dominique Kline (Eckley B. Coxe Jr. Memorial Subject Award for English), Katherine Lewandowski (Eckley B. Coxe Jr, Memorial Subject Award for Science), Darren Zheng (Eckley B. Coxe Jr. Memorial Subject Award for Mathematics), Hannah Falatko (Eckley B. Coxe Jr. Memorial Subject Award for History, Chinese Language, and Visual Arts), Louis DeAngelo (Eckley B. Coxe Jr. Memorial Subject Award for German Language), and Hiba Muhammad (Eckley B. Coxe Jr. Memorial Subject Award for Spanish Language).

MMI Upper School Awards Eleventh Grade Subject Award WinnersOther award winners are: Jillian McGeehin (Susquehanna Valley Local Outstanding High School Chemistry Student Award), Grace Warner (George Eastman Kodak Young Leaders Award & Scholarship), Rachael Betz (Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award), Daniella Vasquez (Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and Social Sciences), Andrew Blasko (Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology), Connor Spencer (The Rensselaer Medal Award & Scholarship), Morgan Strecker (The Bryn Mawr President’s Book Award), Ashley Loss (Chatham University Rachel Carson Healthy Planet Award), Jayden Bonham (University of Pennsylvania Book Award), and Olivia Bartholomew (Wellesley College Club Book Award).

2021 senior awards presented at the 129th Commencement Exercises were given to: Katherine Lewandowski and Natalie Graham (VFW Voices of Democracy Certificate of Merit and Monetary Award), Dominique Kline (2021 American Association of Teachers of German Award), Katherine Lewandowski (2021 Jake Kislan ’56 Polonaise Society Award), Kevin McNulty (2021 American Legion Good Citizenship Award and the Jeanne R. Butcher Memorial Scholarship Award), Louis DeAngelo (MMI Ambassador Service Award and the $2,000 per year Hazleton Rotary Memorial Scholarship), Darren Zheng ($1,250 per year Hazleton Rotary Memorial Scholarship Award)

Several awards were given to multiple winners. Viva Barrett, Thomas Mayernik, Amelia Minzola, Alexandra Tierney, and Randy Zea all received The Russell Sage College Student Sage Award. Sandra Abdulrahman and Lindsay Horvat both won the Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award. Kaylee Witner and Althea Stewart were recognized with the Elmira College Key Awards. Alain Benitez and Kennedy Tavaris both received the Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Medal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.